The Basic Meeting List Toolbox

PROTIP: Unpublishing vs. Deleting

This entry is part 2 of 4 in the series Root Server Admin

One of the nice features of the BMLT, is the ability to “unpublish” a meeting.

When you “unpublish” meetings, the meeting stays in the database, but is not displayed for searches or returned in semantic queries.

A typical use case for “unpublished” meetings might be seasonal meetings (such as beach meetings in the Northeastern Seaboard of the US), or meetings going through transition (like searching for a new venue, or temporarily closed).

“Unpublished” DOES NOT Equal “Deleted”

However, it needs to be noted that “unpublished” meetings are not reported as deleted when synchronizing with NAWS. They are not reported at all. The whole idea is to avoid cascading the problem beyond the immediate Service body. It’s a local, temporary issue.

If you want NAWS to be informed of a deleted meeting, then you need to actually “delete” the meeting.

‘Ware “Delete This Meeting Permanently”

If you are logged in as a Server Administrator, you have the option to “Delete This Meeting Permanently” as a checkbox under the “Delete This Meeting” button.

If you delete a meeting permanently, it removes all records of that meeting ever having existed, INCLUDING THE FACT THAT IT WAS DELETED. That means that there’s no way to tell NAWS that the meeting was deleted.

In general, it’s usually a bad practice to edit the meeting list as Server Administrator. You should use a lower-tier user to make meeting list changes.

Tagged on: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.